Community Stocking Questions

1. D

DeniseMichele Valued Member Member

Hi all,

I am a newbie and I am stocking my first tank. It is a 55g and it will be mostly hardscaped with driftwood and some plants. The filter is the SunSun 302, and a Tetra Whisper 20i that I am thinking I will take off periodically for the quarantine tank. This is the stock I am considering, please let me know if this seems good or bad or what not.
    - 9 Corydoras (haven't decided for sure on what type, probably trilineatus)
    - 5 Platy
    - 15 Rummynose Tetra
    - 2 Mystery snails
    - 3 Mollies
    - 2 Gardneri killifish*

* The second part of my question is if the killifish would be better replaced by something else? I thought about doing some type of cichlid but I could not find any that I thought were colorful and/or peaceful enough. I thought about doing a pair of ngelfish but I was concerned as I am planning on getting lyretail mollies, and I have also been told that angelfish do better in small groups rather than pairs, and that even with a matched pair, they may become viciously aggressive with the other fish. Lastly, I also considered doing one or two bristlenose plecos instead of the killifish, but if I do this I will have to reduce some of the other numbers.

All feedback and info will be greatly appreciated :)

2. Dom90

Dom90 Fishlore VIP Member

It seems like you know what you are doing. Is your tank cycled yet?

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

3. OP
    OP
    D

Thanks! I am relieved to hear that I am on the right track. And nope, not cycled yet...just waiting it out :)

4. Dom90

So you are in the process of cycling?

5. bettamars

bettamars Valued Member Member