Columbian shark hitting his face in the gravel.

ddj

Reaction score
Hi, my catfish has started slamming his head into the gravel every now and then and then sometimes jumps upwards when swimming, could he be trying to find food using his barbels when he hits the gravel?, im not sure why he jumps upwards randomly though while swimming.

OP
ddj

ddj

Reaction score
I have an api masterkit I phoned them and they said it’s the right kit for brackish water but it never registers anything, the colours are always the default so I’m waiting until I have some money to get the marine lab kit, on top of that my new reverse osmosis kit broke so I’m waiting for the replacement parts so it’s not going great, I also have a Seachem ammonia badge so I monitor that as soon as it slightly changes colour I add Seachem prime to detoxify it, it’s hard to get a video because they do it randomly and if I get close the get scared so they swim off but I will try.

Wrench

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
daviem said:
I have an api masterkit I phoned them and they said it’s the right kit for brackish water but it never registers anything, the colours are always the default so I’m waiting until I have some money to get the marine lab kit, on top of that my new reverse osmosis kit broke so I’m waiting for the replacement parts so it’s not going great, I also have a Seachem ammonia badge so I monitor that as soon as it slightly changes colour I add Seachem prime to detoxify it, it’s hard to get a video because they do it randomly and if I get close the get scared so they swim off but I will try.
To be honest with you my bala shark occasionally does this and has calmed down since I added to more of her type, maybe get another one?
From what i recall they get fairly big so depends on how big your tank is.
Does he have pop eye or has he had pop eye ever before?