Clownfish Care Questions

Mike1995

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
so.. Some of you might know but i have many freshwater tanks and many fish. But i have no experience with saltwater. I am getting a small 15 gallon saltwater tank on Sunday with two clownfish. ITS A TANK IM BUYING FROM SOMEONE THATS ALREADY BEEN ESTABLISHED. comes with one of those filters built into the tank, a heater and a light, and live rock. Can i use any substrate? sand? What do i do with the live rock? Is there a way to attach corals? And what do clownfish eat? How do I um... Make the water saltwater i guess?
I've never owned saltwater so any advice would be great. I don't however want to buy any insane expensive equipment right now so just basic care tips would be great!

Mike1995

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Na not really. I've been waiting for something like this to come along.

stella1979

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Sorry I've left you waiting.... Give me a few and I'll answer all your questions as best as I can.

stella1979

Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Definitely go with sand for substrate. You could get live sand but you definitely don't have to.

Live rock - it's best to transfer it quickly and in a bucket of tank water if at all possible. When removed from a tank, live rock starts to experience die off of the life within it. In particular, you will lose some of the beneficial bacteria... how much will depend on how long it is without water and flow. If you have a significant amount of die off you may go through a mini cycle.

Is there anything in the way of biomedia coming with the tank? Most SW tanks depend on the live rock alone to house BB and hold the cycle. In smaller tanks, or for those that do not want a lot of rock in the display, biomedia in the filter is sometimes used. Liverock rubble in the filter may be used as biomedia.