Clown striped pleco and algae wafers

mimianderson

I started reading some existing posts on this topic and have read a lot online. I’m a real beginner with fish and made lots of mistakes due to poor advice from LFS. No real help except from members in this forum. Thank you for responding to my calls for help so far!
I’m really confused from conflicting advice how often to feed my clown striped pleco algae wafers. I’ve read this should be sparingly but then elsewhere once a day. Consistent advice is that these type of pleco should be surviving mainly on wood. I’m in the process of introducing new driftwoods (Malaysian driftwood) to our tank once curing process complete. Any advice about the algae wafer feeding frequency greatly appreciated!

StarGirl

All I know is they dont survive mainly on wood...How big is your Pleco and how big are the wafers? I feed mine fresh veggies twice a week along with wafers. My wafers are a little bigger than the diameter of a pea.

mimianderson

StarGirl said:
All I know is they dont survive mainly on wood...How big is your Pleco and how big are the wafers? I feed mine fresh veggies twice a week along with wafers. My wafers are a little bigger than the diameter of a pea.
I would say about 4cm. I’ve put a wafer in tonight under the coral where he hangs out. I thought he was looking a bit thinner and less lively. Colour good though. My wafers bigger. I’d say diameter of 1 penny piece. I tried fresh veggie. Wasn’t interested. I was worried about leaving it in tank all night. The tetras like the wafers too so anything unused the tetras can have tomorrow. Very tough as so much conflicting advice online and my LFS are useless.

StarGirl

mimianderson said: