Clown loaches, frogs, plechostimuses

Discussion in 'Freshwater Beginners' started by CaliRoo, Jun 28, 2016.

1. C

CaliRoo New Member Member

I am a beginner. I've asked many "experts" from large chain pet stores to the local fish shops and received wildly varying advice.

I have a 20gal tank. I clean it every other weekend. I have 4 glofish tetras and a plechostimus. (? Sucker fish? Pleco?) I've had them about a year. Yesterday I just introduced an African dwarf frog and 3 beautiful clown loaches. I have now researched enough to discover that I have done a disservice to the clowns and that they are better in schools of 5, and need at LEAST a 75gal tank. Makes me angry with the fish guys but whatever.

My questions are:
    1. Is my tank currently overcrowded?
    2. How long do I have to rehome the loaches before they're miserable or at risk?
    3. The frog is missing. Can plechostimuses coexist with them?
    4. Once I do rehome the loaches (which makes me sad) what CAN I put with my glofish and plecho and frog if the frog is still around? (I swear the sucker fish looks 3xs bigger and I half expect a frogleg to dangle out of its mouth...)

2. WeepingShadesOfIndigo

WeepingShadesOfIndigo Valued Member Member

Finding out what kind of pleco would help out the others here to help with stocking. If you are unsure you can always add a picture of it if at all possible.

3. Aquaphobia

Aquaphobia Fishlore Legend Member

1. Yes
    2. I don't know but I would get them out if there within the next few months at most.
    3. ADF's are best kept on their own to ensure they get enough to eat. They don't see well and may not find the food before the other fish.
    4. Do you know what kind of Pleco you have? Some will fit in smaller tanks, some need ponds.

Do you know what kind of Glofish you have? There are different species used and that may affect your choices.

Welcome to the forum!

4. musserump09

musserump09 Well Known Member Member

1. Yes