Cloudy Water

OneMom

Reaction score
HI Everyone:

We moved Angel to an un-cycled 10 gallon tank back on Nov 3rd. (She was sluggish & wouldn't have lasted in the unheated bowl much longer.) We added Bio-Spira to quick cycle it. All of my readings (ammonia, nitrite, nitrates) are now at zero except my ph is at 8.0. Is this why my water is cloudy? We've had cloudy water for two weeks, even after water changes.

We've been making 25-30% water changes on a weekly basis. We don't vacuum the gravel - should we? (We didn't want to interfere with the cycling process.)

Angel is energetic, happy, & healthy. The cloudy water hasn't seemed to affect her at all.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Timesdragonfly

Reaction score
I have heard that cloudy water can be the result of a bacteria bloom in the water that is harmless to the fish and just needs time to clear up. I'm still a newbie though, so let's see what some more experienced folk have to say!

chickadee

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
A lot of newly cycled tanks will go cloudy for a time and no one really knows why.  It could be the bacterial bloom of the new tank and nothing to be concerned about.  I would not do large water changes.  Just do regular tank maintenance.  You could do a light gravel vacuum but I would not do anything extensive as the gravel is still very new and establishing its own coat of the beneficial bacteria.  Your tank may have started with Bio-spira which makes it cycled technically but it still takes time for the bacteria to settle and grow on the surfaces of the tank and on the gravel so it would be okay to just leave it alone for the present.  I would say that what is happening is perfectly normal and one day you will wake up and find a pristinely clear tank.  Large water changes may just prolong the problem if it is the bacteria trying to settle and grow.  Just do the regular 25% to 30% weekly changes.