Cloudy Water And Frustration Help

Discussion in 'Cloudy Aquarium Water' started by ScottsTots, Apr 14, 2019.

1. ScottsTotsNew MemberMember

This is my first time posting but have spent about a month lurking on here and have found it to be very beneficial. I've had several small tanks in the past with no issues but this new one has me in fits. I got a 20 gallon tank about 2 months ago. My kids were eager to get fish in it so I didn't let it cycle properly. Obviously this was a mistake and I lost all but one of the fish. The problem I'm having now is my water turned cloudy about a week ago after I did my weekly water change. My local pet store suggested an air pump to help circulate the water. I installed that and now my water is still cloudy and the fish I currently have are all staying at the top of the aquarium opposite the bubble wand. I have also tested the water using the API master test kit. The ammonia, nitrite and nitrate are all 0 ppm. I read about the issues with the nitrate test so I violently shook and beat the bottle before testing. I'm sure I'm leaving details out but I would love any help you could give.

Attached Files:

2. FrankieflowazValued MemberMember

Nitrate at 0 ppm means you have no bacteria colony built up and after 2 months thats a bit bad you want 5-10 ppm i believe for nitrates how often do you water change?? How much % wise? Do you condition your tap water to make it safe??

3. ScottsTotsNew MemberMember

I was doing a weekly water change of about 25% and then last weekend I did a 50% water change. I use Tetra AquaSafe Plus when I do my water change. I also used the Safe Start a few days ago thinking I needed the good bacteria to help with the cloudy water.

4. IslandvicWell Known MemberMember

Welcome to fishlore forum.

You probably from "new tank syndrome".