cleaning a 10 gallon

1. woodsplace1 Initiate Member

ok...I am getting some really mixed advice, but seem to trust you all more than my local aquarium store. I think they are giving me really bad advice, just to make me buy more crap when something goes wrong. They keep telling me I only need to change water every 3-4 weeks about 50%water change, but everyone here says...no way. 10-15% water change weekly will help with my pH. My pH has been very high and the store has told me to buy this pH down drops (which I haven't done yet) all my other reading have been on the mark. Do you know when I should change the filter (is that monthly). I am new to this and have only had the tank up and running since the end of December so any advice would be great. I just want someone to give me some advice that doesn't require buying crap loads more of chemicals that seems unecessary and possibly harmful to the fish. Thanks for listening and the help... :-\

2. fish_r_friend Well Known Member Member

for a water change the big 50% is what i would do but its just personal preference

3. fish_r_friend Well Known Member Member

P.S. don't get the drops its better to have a stable Ph than a constantly changing one

4. Gunnie Well Known Member Member

If your tank is cycled (sorry, I can't remember), you can do water changes weekly.  That is my routine.  I change about 50% out and vacuum about half the gravel each week.  If your tank isn't cycled, don't worry about the water changes until it is cycled, and it is necessary for the health and life of your fish.