Clean I G Tank After Ich

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Amanda27, Apr 18, 2018.

1. Amanda27

Amanda27 New Member Member

Hey! I have a question I'm new to having a big tank I've always had beta fish and did fine with them.... Well I about a month ago bought a 10 gal tank ran the filter and everything while I was out if town then got back in town and bought about 7 glo fish a snail and a pleco.... Everything was fine and dandy and for day the 13th this month yes Friday the 13th I know!... But all 7 of my glos died with in 30 40 minutes of each other niticed they had white spits on them used Google and foubd out it was ich..... Now that they have died I need to clean the tank out so I can stock back up in fish... How do u clean tge tank out when my sucker and snail are still alive.... Do I take hald the water out and redo the water? Do I take tbe snail and sucker out if the tank and clean it all??? Help!!!!! I don't want my snail and sucker to die now but I need to clean it before new fish go in..

2. j

jaymethy Valued Member Member

Hey,

First off, all types of plecos are too big for 10 gallons.

As for dealing with the ich. I would perform a few 50% water changes, several days apart. Keep a close eye on your pleco and snail, and if no white spots form, you should be good to re-stock in a few weeks. If white spots appear, run out and pick up some ich medication. Treat the tank as per the directions, and then wait a couple weeks before restocking (and run some water changes too).

Also, did you cycle your tank when you first set it up?

3. bizaliz3

bizaliz3 Fishlore Legend Member

are you familiar with the nitrogen cycle? Because that is the huge part that it appears you missed.

Setting up a tank and letting it "run" for a weekend accomplishes nothing. You need to learn about cycling a tank immediately. BEFORE you get more fish. Or you will just have a repeat of what just happened.