Cichlids-why cant everyone just get along

1. pando Initiate Member

ive only had my tank a few weeks and only discovered this site a few days ago so sorry if i am posting alot of problems but i bought a cichlid last week (a jack dempsy x convict) and he is about 2cm's and today i bought another of the same breed who is very slightly smaller than him and within a minute the one i bought last week started chasing him around has been going on for hours......is there any way of stopping them is this natural? i have a 2 foot by 2 foot tank considering they're size the tank is quite large thought that them noth being tiny babies that they would befriend each other considering they're in a community tank of large silver sharks a beta and 2 large angels.....is this a get to know them thing or hostility thing??? will they ever get along i know its only early days.......
    very confused needing help

2. dahly Member Member

I'm not an expert on these fish, others here are, but from what I've read, they are not compatable. Good Luck!

3. dano569 Member Member

it is natural but they will probably beat everything else in your tank up.i don't think you will be able to keep them very long.sorry to have to tell you that but you don't want to get your other fish hurt. ;)

4. chickadee Fishlore VIP Member

how many gallons did you say your tank holds? from the fish you listed (sharks, betta, and angels) in a 2 foot x 2 foot tank you may have your tank overcrowded already. you may want to list your fish with the size in gallons of your tank and get some advice on the fish you have before you add more. You wouldn't want to add more than you can keep.

hope your little guys are okay.

Rose
    :D

5. joe Member Member

I agree with everyone else. And also u should probably get a cichlid tank if u want cichlids its not recamended that they are in a community tank. Hope that helps. ;)

Joe

6. Gunnie Well Known Member Member