Cichlids... need info

Discussion in 'Cichlids' started by guppygrl, Dec 18, 2012.

1. guppygrl

guppygrlValued MemberMember

I'm a newbie and only have experience with guppies and now Molly and swordtails.

I hear people taking about cichlids and wanted some feed back on what made you get them and what makes them a good choice for fishkeeping.

Thanks.

2. Disc61

Disc61Well Known MemberMember

Hi Guppygrl, yeah i have a bit of an interest in Cichlids. what really interest me in them is how interactive they are with you. whether it is Discus or Africans ( in my case) when i come into the room, they come to the front of the glass. they are very aware of your existence and want to be seen by you. Of course it has a lot to do with the fact that they know i have everything to do with "Food" but who cares.

3. OP
    OP
    guppygrl

Good info. Are they considered large fish? I know nothing about them. Do they have different variations like what I'm currently stocking?

I have a 38 gallon hex. If I were ever to relocate my current fish to another tank... would I have room for them?

4. CichlidnutFishlore VIPMember

Yes, my Cichlids are amazingly good at begging for food :D

Cichlids are a lot of fun. There are so many different species to choose from as well. I'm a Central/South American Cichlid guy.

5. YeoyWell Known MemberMember

Some of them get quite big but there are smaller ones too, and yes the range of colours is quite amazing. Most are bigger and semi-aggressive which is why they are usually kept with other species of cichlis only.

6. OP
    OP
    guppygrl

What I have are likely pretty peaceful fish... except for the bratty molly's. Lol

I'll have to check them out at the LFS. I hear so many people discussing them. Wasn't sure what the fascination was. Are they a new breed?

7. CichlidnutFishlore VIPMember