Cichlid Tank Ideas

1. MaddoxAtom

MaddoxAtom New Member Member

Okay so I'm a beginner lol. All I've had/have is a betta sorority tank which is going well buy my friend gave me her old 55 gallon and I've decided to add some Gouramis angels and a discus which I've read are all decent beginners fish and I love the look of all of them so I just wanted more info on the fish in general. I want to get three spot Gouramis and I've been told to get a male and female or two females. I also want to add a catfish that isn't a cory cat bc I plan on adding one or two of those to my betta soroity. So any ideas on that. I also want to add an elephant nose after the tank matures but I've also been told that since all these fish are aggressive it would be best to introduce it at the same time as the others but I know the water conditions have to be pristine for the elephant so I just wanted opinions on this and well everything else thanks

2. JesseMoreira06

JesseMoreira06 Well Known Member Member

Hey welcome ,

Discuss are not ment for beginners at all, they are very delicate fish and hard to keep and should be kept only by experienced fish keepers, I would suggest waiting before trying with discuss, also discuss are better in species only tanks with atleast 5-6 of them and a 75g tank.

for catfish , I would suggest hoplo catfish and getting 4 or 5 of them.

elephantnose fish isn't a good idea in a 55g , they need a 75g at the bare minimum.

Imo I would suggest

1 Anglefish
    2 Pearl Gourami
    10 Harlequin Rasboras
    10 Lemon Tetras
    4-5 Hoplo Catfish
    1 BN Pleco

you can switch up the schooling fish to many others that you may like those were just some suggestions.

3. sfsamm

sfsamm Well Known Member Member