Cichlid Newbie Needs Advice Please

TropicsGirl

Hi,

This is my first time to post in a forum of any kind. I hope I have my post in the correct section.

Here is my little fish story:

About 3 months ago I purchased 3 Cichlids and some Tiger Barbs from the local Wal Mart (yeah, I know, bad idea) for my 80 gal aquarium which already contained 3 Barbs and 1 Plecostamus (I had a massive fish die-out from lack of care during my absence). The tank in the store simply said "Assorted Cichlids." I thought I was getting 3 different kinds of Cichlid since they were all different colors (1 orange, 1 blue, and 1 white). Upon getting them settled in the 80 gal I decided to research what kinds I had gotten. I believe, from what I have seen on various sites that they are ALL Zebras. Bummer, I didn't want fighting or breeding. The Blue one was the biggest, then Orange, with White being the smallest. Blue immediately became the top fish in the tank and bossed everyone around (no vicious fighting). Orange was next in line, with White at the bottom of the totem pole.
Then, about a month ago, Blue and White became VERY aggressive with one another and fought all day and night for several days getting into mouth locks many times. Concurrently, White was attacking EVERYTHING in the tank quite viciously, killing some Barbs and injuring others; including the Plecostomus, damaging it on its fins and tail. I was worried they would kill one another, so I removed White to a 40 gal tank that just has a juvenile Perch in it from the local pond. White and Perch are getting along famously.