Cichlid in 34 gallon fish tank

Bullydogs77

Hello, I am going to buy a 34gallon, so I would like to know which African cichlids I could put in it. I would like to have some aggressive ones.
Thanks

airfix2

i have no experience keeping cichlids, but ive heard shelldwellers are good for tanks this size. they are very small and like the name says, they live in shells. i have also heard they are very entertaining. i hope this information is helpful to you.

SparkyJones

none are really aggressive but they all are aggressive in their own ways. you are really limited by the tank size to what you could feasibly keep.you can't have a bunch of fish that will get 6-10" as adults in there.
2-3" range
Neolamprologus brichardi
Neolamprologus leleupi
lamprologus signatus
Neolamprologus brevis
lamprologus ocellatus
Kribensis (yes, it's a cichlid from africa!)

3-4" range
Demasoni
tropheus duboisi

I can't think of any more but everyone else gets 6" and bigger and not a good fit for 34 gallons unless you just want to keep one or two fish.

These smaller guys you can keep a few- handful or more of in the 34g, or a couple on the 3-4" range instead. anything else will get crowded and bad when they grow up. I'm sure there's a few more in the 3-4" range I can't think of that I missed.

airfix2

you could probably keep some yellow labidochromis in there, but i have no experience with them some i don´t really know and am guessing from internet research and a friend who told me ¨you can put 3 labidochromis in a standard 20 gallon¨.

Bwood22

Most of your traditional "African Cichlids" (mbuna, Peacocks and Haps) are going to be way too big and require a much larger tank footprint (4ft minimum) that what you will have with 34 gallons.