Choices, choices Help

1. Jackie Frost Member Member

Okay. I did what you suggested Mommybaby and did a 90% water change and then garnished with aquasafe. Now I'm trying to decide what fish to stock my 15 gallon tank with. I'm thinking a female betta, (I really want a male, but the females are supposed to be nonaggressive according to the Liveaquaria website) 4 bleeding tetra hearts and a red eyed white fish whom the owner thinks is a Gourami, but is not confident. (And yes he works for a credited aqaurium store.) Good choices? Too many fish? Are there other problems I'm not aware of? Please let me know before I make these important purchases. I go to the fish store on Friday.;D

2. Shadowbeam Member Member

I'm no Betta expert, but I have heard that females can also be quite aggressive?

The best of luck on your new tank though and I'm sure some more experienced members can help you out :)

aqadvisor can be a handy tool to help you get a general idea for stocking levels

3. jgon_ Well Known Member Member

Females can be just as aggressive as male bettas, I wouldn't risk it. Also, I would not add the mystery white fish until you are absolutely sure what it is so you know exactly what kind of tank the fish would require.

4. click Well Known Member Member

Hm, I know how hard it is to chose your fish. And even it might say in books they will act a certain way, there are always exceptions from the rule. For instance in my tank, if I didn't had my guppies, there are times of the day you could swear the tank is empty:giggle:

You're taking a risk by adding a betta. It's true there are a few success stories of bettas in community settings but I think those are the exceptions from the rules I mentioned before. So you should think of a plan B if the betta doesn't get along with your other fish, have a spare tank for him/her or make sure you can take him/her back to the store.