Cherry Shrimp ??

Discussion in 'Cherry Shrimp' started by 86 ssinit, Apr 18, 2018.

1. 86 ssinit

86 ssinit Well Known Member Member

I started a cherry shrimp tank. 5.5 gal with 4 shrimp. I now have the 4 and 2 babies. So what happened? Also now looks like one of the shrimp is berried. What happens now? Also just added 3 tangerine shrimp. They do get along?? Yes I’m new to shrimp and thought if they are berried I’d end up with more than just 2.

2. Rtessy

Rtessy Fishlore VIP Member

There's likely babies you just don't see yet, they're very good at hiding. If a shrimp is berried, you should see babies in 3-4 weeks. If the tangerine shrimp are tigers, yes they will get along and won't interbreed, but keep in mind tigers are much more sensitive than cherries. And yes, typically a clutch is 10-30 eggs

3. BillynJennifer

BillynJennifer Valued Member Member

If the female that hatched the two babies was very young, she may have only had two eggs. She'll get better as time goes on. Your other shrimp that is berried should hatch her babies between 3 and 4 weeks. Your tangerine shrimp (if it's a neocaridina) will get along with your cherry shrimp because they are the same kind of shrimp with different colors. Now, if your cherries and tangerines breed to each other, you will eventually get wild muddy, brown colors out of them.

4. OP
    OP
    86 ssinit

Do they drop the eggs or hold till they hatch? When I got the first 4 I thought one was berried but than I didn’t see the eggs and though5 it molted. Can eggs hatch at different times? The 2 babies are about 1/4 inch.

5. BillynJennifer

They will hold the eggs until they hatch and they will hatch within a very short time of each other.

6. Rtessy

However, I've noticed they don't always grow at the same rate. Some from my first batch we're 1/2" after three weeks, some we're 1/4" and there were two even smaller than that.

7. OP
    OP
    86 ssinit