Cherry Shrimp Tank pH at 8.2

erbear

Hi I'm new to shrimp keeping,
I don't know why but the pH of my planted Cherry Shrimp Tank has been very slowly rising from 7.6 in April (when I started it) to 8.2 now.

I've lost 3 shrimp in the last 2 days (2 Berried females and 1 kid shrimp).

I want to know how I can safely and slowly lower it below 8 pH.

Things I've tried:
-Reducing aeration
-Adding Indian almond leaves
-Adding cholla wood

I'm concerned about using peat moss because I hear it can soften water.

I can answer questions about water parameters in the tank and any changes I've made to the tank (I keep everything very well documented).

Thank you so much for your input!

Here is a picture of the tank

JettsPapa

My shrimp are thriving in 8.2 pH water. I don't know why your shrimp died, but I don't think it's pH, unless the pH change was too rapid for them to adjust to.

erbear

I'm just concerned because 8pH seems to be the upper limit of what Cherry shrimp like. I agree that they could definitely thrive above 8 given the right circumstances.

Any ideas on why the shrimp would die?

On 5/30 I treated the tank w/ 0.1 gram fenbendazole (dewormer) for planaria. I did an extra water change last week and monitored for ammonia spikes. Everything stayed stable.

JettsPapa

ROFEA

I cannot see well enough, is the substrate like the shrimp stratum pellets or is it gravel?

erbear

The substrate is inert gravel (Seachem- Flourite Black).

The water change was 12.5% (1 gal) the day before treatment. Then 12.5% (1 gal) again 48 hours post-treatment.

JettsPapa

I dunno. Maybe richiep will have some ideas.

richiep

Thing is you may be having fluctuations in ph from your source water, but first I'd like to know what your gh/kh readings are?
How much and how often you do water changes

erbear

GH 8 KH 3.