Cherry Shrimp Question

Pirate Queen

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hi everyone!!
Although I have had saltwater and seahorse aquariums in the past I'm a newbie with freshwater ( goldfish as a child bit that's about it!)
I'm getting a secondhand 25 gallon tank tomorrow so I'm just in the planning stage atm. I've been reading up on cherry shrimp and would like to have them ( once its cycled obviously). My question is that I like both the red and yellow varieties but it is advised not too have both due to interbreeding, BUT does this really matter?
Thank you in advance.

Tabascopanda

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
it only matters if you don't possibly want non red or yellow shrimp. if you don't care that color variations or "mud color" shrimp start showing up then go ahead.

firestorm1522

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
It only matters if you want to keep the shrimp with red or yellow coloring only. As time goes on the newer generations will become more brown and not as pretty.

fjh

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Hi everyone!!
Although I have had saltwater and seahorse aquariums in the past I'm a newbie with freshwater ( goldfish as a child bit that's about it!)
I'm getting a secondhand 25 gallon tank tomorrow so I'm just in the planning stage atm. I've been reading up on cherry shrimp and would like to have them ( once its cycled obviously). My question is that I like both the red and yellow varieties but it is advised not too have both due to interbreeding, BUT does this really matter?
Thank you in advance.
I'm so jealous, you've kept seahorses!!! :0 I'll have to get into saltwater tanks...