Cherry shrimp dying.

PhoenixPhire

Reaction score
IMG_4610.JPG
IMG_4610.JPGAbout two weeks ago I got 6 cherry shrimp in my 20 gal long, it has been setup for like a year now with tetras but I got rid of them, anyways 3 of the cherry shrimp have died,I have checked my water parameters GH is 80 but it is really hard to tell on the API strips, the KH 20 ph 6.5 and 0 nitrites. I do weekly 10% water change. S I don't know how to tell if it is a disease or what (this is my first time ever with cherry shrimp. I had a friend give me one amano shrimp so it has been in the tank for almost half a year.

StarGirl

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
That white ring they call the white ring of death. See if you can find some threads on molting issues I think that was what that was from. Not a cherry expert by any means.

Inner10

Well Known
Reaction score
Molting problem because your KH is too low and your PH is a little low. You have a buffering substrate in there?

Gel0city

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Have you done a water change recently, and perhaps the temp or ph wasn't stable? I'm not a shrimp expert, but I heard the shrimp are vulnerable to swings in ph

Joshaeus

Well Known
Reaction score
You mean ppm, right? In that case, your GH is much too low...shrimp and other crustaceans need substantial amounts of calcium and magnesium to molt (If you mean degrees, both KH and GH are far too high). I would recommend slowly increasing the GH to several times that amount over a few water changes.

richiep

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Looks like you've got some serious moult issues there, your ph is to low at 6.5 it will stress shrimp which leads to health problems, you gh is to low that needs to go up to 140 to 160ppm 8 to 9 Dkh. the one in the picture doesn't have disease but as moult issues
You must raise you ph slowly or run the risk of killing all

OP
PhoenixPhire

PhoenixPhire

Reaction score
Joshaeus said: