Cherry Shrimp Dying

Discussion in 'Cherry Shrimp' started by MD_Plants, Apr 11, 2018.

1. MD_Plants

MD_Plants Well Known Member Member

I ordered 15 cherry shrimp from Aquatic arts. in the bag, one was dead but all the others were fairly active and swimming around. This is my first time keeping shrimp has a side note. The aquarium was a week or so old but the sponge filter was pre seeded and i used plants and sand from another tank. 3 days ago i see it. A dead shrimp. I checked to make sure it wasnt a molt and confident is wasnt. since then i have had 4 more die. I received a GH and KH test kit today from API and concluded it takes 12 drops to turn 5 ml water green (GH) and 7 drops to turn it yellow (KH) I live on well water, all products dont use copper, i use special shrimp food, Ph of around 7.6, on another test it says my GH is 200 ppm, no nitrite and low nitrate. How can i save my shrimp? they were drip acclimated for an hour and a half

also dont think its a molting problem i added a tiny cuttle bone when the tank first was setup

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2018
  2. Timmy1027

Timmy1027 Valued Member Member

Sorry to hear that. Did you test ammonia in your tank? If it is a new tank, I don't think 1 week is enough for establishing nitrogen cycling system.

Also, not sure why you have different GH reading. But high GH can cause trouble when shrimp molts.

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2018
  3. itsEmma

itsEmma Valued Member Member

Hi,
    I live in London where we have very hard tap water, ph 8+, GH at least 15 and KH around 10! When I first got shrimp ,just like yours, mine were regularly dying, despite the tank being well cycled .
    After lots of reading, I discovered that it seemed to be that these parameters were just too high for the shrimp. (I know that some people say "mine are fine in exactly the same conditions...." Maybe they have the magic touch but mine, like yours were not good)