Cherry Barb Tank Mates? 29 Gallon Tank

Discussion in 'Aquarium Stocking Questions' started by CillClare, Aug 20, 2019.

1. CillClare

CillClareNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +0
    Hey, I'm still pretty new to keeping fish and I have a 10 gal that's doing well (Molly's and guppies). I'm getting a 29 gallon tank, maybe larger if needed for ideal stocking.
    I have well water, so it is pretty hard. I have conditioner, ph reducer, and the aquarium salts that help a lot, but I need hardier fish.
    I really want cherry barbs! But I have no idea what can go with them. I've heard about Angel's, tetras, dwarf gourami's, and swordtails with them mostly. HOWEVER I am super dead set against tetras bc I was told neons were good beginner fish and they were too sensitive for my water - live and learn. Never really recovered from the many deaths. Many mixed opinions on stocking options for cherry barbs. Any suggestions are super appreciated or any advice!

2. midnightwhale

midnightwhaleNew MemberMember

Ratings:
    +15
    I'm sorry about the neons :(, I've heard that neon tetras in general are just not very hardy so don't feel too bad about it. I'd try to maximize the amount of cherry barbs and skip other schooling fish but you could mix with tetras and rasboras as long as you have a sufficient school size for both of them. With the 29 gallon, you could do a school of bottom dwellers like small loaches (rosy, kuhli, dwarf chain...) or a school of one of the many varieties of Cory that matches the temperature of the tank. I think a dwarf gourami would be a great option for a centerpiece fish or you could try an angel. Just know that there is a dwarf gourami disease that's hard to treat so another gourami that you could do is a few honey gouramis. Apistogrammas and dwarf ram cichlids are also another option for a colorful centerpiece fish but they could be kind of difficult as well and aren't as hardy as the angels and gouramis.
    If it were me, I'd do:
    10 Cherry Barb