Cherries!

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
So I'm thinking of getting 6 cherry shrimp tomorrow for my 5g. My Ph is usually high but richiep said they could do it if I acclimate them really good.

My question is how do I do that? :rolleyes: I know you drip into the bag. But for how long? How much? Should I check the ph of the water in the bag to see how close it is?

JettsPapa

Well Known
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
StarGirl15 said:
So I'm thinking of getting 6 cherry shrimp tomorrow for my 5 gallon. My Ph is usually high but richiep said they could do it if I acclimate them really good.

My question is how do I do that? :rolleyes: I know you drip into the bag. But for how long? How much? Should I check the ph of the water in the bag to see how close it is?
I'm fairly new to keeping shrimp, but most recommendations I've seen say 1 drop per second for at least 1-1/2 hours.

OP
StarGirl15

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
If the Phs match pretty good I really don't have to worry right?

86 ssinit

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
That would be best and ask the store owner what his ph/kh/gh is just to see where you are to him. I don’t drip I like to leave the bag floating and add tank water to the bag every 15min or so for about an hour. But that’s me and ive been buying from this store for years so know it works. You may want to go longer. But I would do a minimum of an hour.

OP
StarGirl15

StarGirl15

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Everything else I just plop and drop nothing has died yet but Rummynose. But I don't want to kill these semI expensive lil buggers.

kallililly1973

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
Just started