Cheap alternative to Eco-Complete or Flourite?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Substrates - Gravel, Sand' started by wintori, Dec 7, 2012.

1. w

wintori New Member Member

hi guys! im a newbie from the Philippines. we dont have Eco-Complete or Flourite here. i just want to ask if there are cheap alternatives? i found a home improvement depot nearby and they sell various sands and gravel, can i put those in my tank? i have a 15gal planted tank with rocks in it and just rocks! the plants are all in pots that came with them when i purchased them. i have a nerite snail and 8 guppies. my filter is a sponge filter for a 50gal tank and i think the snail and guppies are happy with it.
    im planning to cover the bottom with hair grass and im having a hard time looking for flourite substrate here in manila. any suggestions would be appreciated.
    btw, some stores are selling what they call a "black sand", is that flourite? heres the link  

i asked the seller if its flourite and hes clueless about it.

thank you :)

2. Ziggi

Ziggi Well Known Member Member

Hello and welcome:;hi1!

Certain plants can grow in regular gravel. My old tank had dwarf sagg and some other plants Java fern and I think hornwart (really dont remember that one), and a few others with just gravel and nothing else (no ferts, co2, nada!) and they did fine! My anubias is fine in my sand only substrate too. So, yes, you can have a "low-tech" planted tank with just gravel, the fish waste acts as a natural fertilizer. What plants do you have/are you thinking of getting?

I dont think that sand in the link is flourite supplemented, I think it's just pretty black sand. Have you tried any other online stores? I dont know which would ship to the Philippines. You could also try a "dirted" tank, but research it first.

3. c

chevyguy8893 Well Known Member Member