Changed From Gravel That Sand.

1. GeorgeDaGreat

GeorgeDaGreat Valued Member Member

I just changed the substrate from gravel to sand and in doing so the aquarium looks like this.

I was wondering what the best way to get rid of it was. Should i just let it settle? And if so should the filter be on or off? (There is nothing in there apart from sand and wood.)

Would doing anfew water changes solve the problem?

Attached Files:

2. GabeC

GabeC Valued Member Member

That happens when you don't rinse the sand well enough. I'd put a sponge over your filter intake, and a mesh bag over that. If the filter takes in sand, it can mess up its impeller. It'll probably take a couple days before it settles, but leaving your filter off will kill its beneficial bacteria.

3. WTFish?

WTFish? Well Known Member Member

I have no experience with sand but I've read to just let it settle. Could take days, skim off any big clumps from the water and let filter on. Hopefully someone with experience will chime in soon.

4. Cricket lynn mclean

Cricket lynn mclean Well Known Member Member

You could do a water change to help clear it faster. I put an aluminum baking pan at the bottom of the tank and pour the water slowly onto that.

Also, For future reference, this method worked very well for me.

5. mccann1987

mccann1987 Valued Member Member

If its possible. I would drain the water, take the sand out and rinse it properly. If you are unsure how to do this research on you tube.. Then when the water is running clear/clearish after rinsing, replace the sand in the tank. Make sure its still wet/damp as this will reduce clouding. When filling the tank again put a plate upside down onto the gravel and gently poor the water onto the plate so it doesn't disturb the sand. This will keep the clouding to a minimum.

6. jl_1005

jl_1005 Valued Member Member