Central air

ponitboss

I'm going to be setting up PVC pipe to my pump to push air to all of my tanks my questions are:

1: if I start low with the PVC to the pump can I put an elbow to take it higher like to the roof. As in the the room have 4 corners, the pump is one the aquarium stand in one corner which is lower than the roof, this is the starting point of the PVC, now when it gets to the opposite corner I want to put an PVC elbow upwards to take it tower the roof an continue at that height for the rest of the corners then an elbow back down towards the pump and join the pipes as one. Hope it's understandable I'm not good at explaining things.

2. Would the above mentioned put more pressure on the pump because of the up push?

Coradee

Giving this a bump up for you hope you get some feedback on your set up today.

Dennis57

Not really sure I understand what you are trying to do, but 1 thing is every time you use an elbow ( 90 degree fitting ) you lose presuure and the pump works harder. Try using 2 - 45 angel fittings instead.

LeoDiaz

What kinda of Air pump would you be using? Because from the sound of what your trying to it will take a commercial grade pump to handle all that pressure you want to put against it.

ProudPapa

I don't claim to be an authority on the subject, but when pumping air I'm pretty sure gravity doesn't matter, but volume does. So you can run the pipe any direction you want, but the more pipe you have the bigger pump you'll need.

coralbandit

I'm with JettsPapa .
I ran flexible line[pex] for mine also using 'T's and 90s but I do not believe their is the same "head pressure" with air as water .
I also believe larger diameter pipe allows air to flow easier to a certain degree[capacity of pump] .
Again I have no real knowledge but my set up works.
ponitboss I think you will be all good especially since it sounds like you are creating a loop ..