Centerpiece Fish ideas

1. AllAboutTheBay Member Member

Hello,

I'm new to fish keeping. I have two betta tanks already, and will soon be getting a 29g aquarium that I will set up as a planted, freshwater community tank. I've still trying to decide how to stock it once I get it set up (planted, cycled, etc...) I'm pretty set on getting the following:

6 - panda corys
    12 - cardinal tetras
    1 or 2 - TBD centerpiece fish

I'm not sure what to do about a centerpiece fish. I LOVE the look of the opaline gourami, but I've been reading that they are too big and/or too aggressive for this set up. Thoughts? Does anyone have suggestions on another centerpiece fish?
    I would like a larger fish (4-5 in) and colorful (blue is my favorite color so bonus points for that) and does well in a community.

2. :) fatcatfish (: Well Known Member Member

Electric blue rams!

3. bizaliz3 Fishlore VIP Member

Have you considered an angelfish?

4. Charles556 Member Member

+1 to Angelfish. If you can find a "super red" koi angelfish, that'd make a great centerpiece. However, if you prefer the color blue, there are also "German Blue" angelfish as well. You'd just have to swap out the pandas for Corydoras sterbai or aeneus.

5. AllAboutTheBay Member Member

Would the angelfish or the rams go after the tetras? (Also, I would be able to use bandits instead of pandas too. I like the black/white look and I think they have higher temps requirements)

6. Aquatica88 Member Member

7. Graphix Well Known Member Member

It's a common match up and plenty of people have had this sort of set up before without issues. I don't think angels or rams would kill the tetras, nothing more that chasing them off.

8. Daniel W Member Member

Possibly a pair of honey gouramis?

9. AllAboutTheBay Member Member

Thanks for the suggestions. I was looking through some user's tanks for some more combinations as well and came up with another variation:

- 6 Corys (Julii, Sterbai, or Bandit)