Catfish: has a red bump?

Discussion in 'Freshwater Fish Disease' started by s2reii, Apr 3, 2006.

1. s2reiiNew MemberMember

Hey Guys,

I would really appreciate it if someone could help me out... my catfish one large one and one small one, both have a redish bump just above their gill and under their right eye... if anyone knows what it is or better yet what i could do to fix it, i would be so so grateful.
    anyways I've attached a photo of the large catfish and his spot, hope you can see it.

Attached Files:

2. GunnieWell Known MemberMember

This might be able to help you diagnose your fish somewhat. I am at a loss and will direct Dino to this thread. Welcome to FishLore, and hopefully we can help you get your fish back on track!

From  :

If you are having disease problems, then I hope this will help.

3. s2reiiNew MemberMember

Thanks for the quick reply & the warm welcome, this is my first time using a forum... I'm just kinda desperate to figure out what's wrong with him... At first I thought it was an ulcer, but it doesn't look as nasty as that... before it had a whitish/cloudish substance around the red bump but its gone now. I read through your list but I still can't tell what it is *sigh* I just spotted the mark today so I'll monitor it and see how it is tomorrow morning.

Thanks again =)

s2 reii

O btw, he also has somehow broken his fin, is there anything i should do in particular to help heal that?
    Poor guy hehe we nicknamed him monster because he's so tough, he's survived through everything and all of sudden he has this bump and a broken fin...

4. DinoFishlore VIPMember

Looks like a infected area from an injury.
    Your best course of action is to do a largeish water change of about 35%.
    Do another 35% change 48 hours after the first one.
    What is the size difference between the two ctafish and are they the same species?
    When catfish or most other fish squabble, it is best to add more hiding places.

Hope this helps,
    dino