Caterpillar Identification?

1. BlackNotebookTanks Well Known Member Member

Butterfly newbie here. Was hoping if anyone can identify the species of butterfly these cats are? If can't and you know anyone who can please tag them so they see this thanks!

I found these guys on my broccoli -hundreds of them! I removed as many as I could plus one cool green guy, and put then into some other plants in the front garden that I don't really care for . I also found some yellow eggs and several pupas but I didn't photograph them. I left the pupas on the broccoli. If anyone can ID these guys it would be a great help! Thanks!

Oh also I'm in SW Ireland, Europe if that's any help! Thank you!
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2. Coradee Moderator Moderator Member

I don't know about the first one but the second one looks like cabbage white caterpillars

3. Redshark1 Well Known Member Member

^^^That's right they are in fact all cabbage white caterpillars.

The top one is Small White (Pieris rapae). Eggs are laid singly.

The lower ones are Large White (Pieris brassicae). Eggs are laid in clusters.

They will (as far as I know) only feed on members of the cabbage family (Brassicas) or Nasturtium.

4. BlackNotebookTanks Well Known Member Member

Thanks guys! I had my suspicions about the cabbage butterflies, I initially thought the pure green one was a cabbage white. I also thought there were only one type of cabbage butterflies! Thanks for the info! Also yes, those yellow eggs I saw were laid a good 2-3cm apart from each other. Not in your stereotypical cluster. I love butterflies and caterpillars. Especially hairy Mollies!! I haven't seen one in years though...

5. Redshark1 Well Known Member Member

I haven't heard caterpillars called that before !
    Any hairy mollies in the photos below ?

Here are some I have snapped when out and about - I think the name of the caterpillar comes up when you hover your mouse (cursor) over the photo: