Cascade canister filters...

1. beau Well Known Member Member

Are they any good?

I'm looking for filtration for two 75gal tanks. One will be a general community, and one will be for fancy goldfish. I'd like to be over filtered, not under filtered, so I'm aiming for a minimum of 5x gph.

The Cascade filters are so affordable that I could easily buy two of the 1000's or of the 1200's for each tank, but I can't find much in the way of reviews for them? The only complaints I've read (from some really old FishLore posts) was that there is some issue with water bypassing the filter media. How serious is this? I'm new to canisters so I'm not sure. Other than that all I could find was one part oxidized after 7 years, which I'm not too concerned about.

The other option I was looking at was the API Filstar XP-L for the community and the XP-XL for the Goldie tank, but I came across some bad reviews - things like priming is brutal and the hoses that come with it are hard to fit on and too short. Is this true? These are the baseline for my budget though, the one costing $200 and the other $250. I can't find any combination of Fluval's or Eheim's with an appropriate gph that comes even close to that.

I've also looked at SunSun, but have read they don't hold up for long term use.

Any thoughts and opinions would be greatly appreciated!

2. Dondomingo Well Known Member Member

Wish i could help :( only a Fluval canister owner here. previously Ive had the 206, 306, 406 and now the Fx6. Other than hearing great things from Enhiem users or the occasional SunSun owners. I've never heard of cascade. Not always but for the most part you do get what you pay for. Cheaper doesnt always mean a good deal and on the same note, expensive doesn't always mean better ..looking at you Fluval G6.

3. beau Well Known Member Member