Captive vs Wild Caught Puffers

PseudotropheusKenobi

Which one and why? I’m thinking wild as there’s a greater chance for the puffer to hit its max size, plus the allure of a wild-caught fish has always intrigued me.

For my situation specifically, I’m asking for Fahaka’s, Mbu’s are only available as wild caught fish.

PeterFishKeepin

i have no experience with purchasing wild caught fish but i have been out and caught my own plants, shrimp, mono angels (brackish water species, looks very similar to FW angelfish), and crawfish, loaches, snails and a bit more, you should qt them for atleast 1-2months as they can often have parsites and other nastys you wanna look out for, just also note temps, in wild its often much more cold then your tanks so take a good 1-2hrs to aclimate if their water is cold, also they may take a while to willing take store bought food, it might be best to use smaller live food/culture and smallish foods at the beginning till the puffer start taking your foods.

ChrissFishes01

Well, as I understand it, a fish's max size is more to do with the quality of the water and the amount of food the fish has during periods of quick growth than the fish being wild caught or not. It is true that wild fish tend to reach larger sizes, but to my knowledge, that's only true when they're kept in nature until they're mainly done growing. The vast majority of wild caught fish are caught and sold at a small size anyway.

As for Fahakas specifically, I'd go tank-bred. Wild puffers almost always come in with parasites, and most are at least moderately underweight by the time they're purchased at a store. IME, tank-raised fish have a better time adjusting to store life and the foods offered there, and seem to be in better shape most of the time.