Can't Stop This Algae. Help Please.

psalm18.2

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Ok. So I have an imbalance somewhere as I keep getting algae on the glass.
I did a one week black out and it slowed it down, then lightsback on and it's back.

I added more plants to see if it helps. Light only on from 4pm to 9:30pm.
20180513_203652.jpg
20180513_203648.jpg
20180513_203632.jpg

Fanatic

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
3 years
Hmm, I am not good with battling algae, it always wins.
Why not try a short blackout? Do you have Co2 on this tank?

Tesla

Valued Member
Reaction score
Adding plants helps, your light on time is also on the lower side - i am assuming your water parameters look good. i am not sure of how big your tank is but if possible, you can try adding a bn pleco - it will keep it clean - else get a magnetic cleaner and it can be cleaned with couple of mins of effort daily.

psalm18.2

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Tank is a Fluval Spec 3 so no other fish can be added. I usually clean algae weekly with a scrub brush made for glass. I'll get parameters later. Was dosing Thrive but stopped until this is under control. No CO2 yet.

FishLoverEmma0

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
What i usually do is clean out the tank, scrub the sides, then set it up again, clean all of the equipment, and leave the light off while it cycles again. It usually works.

Tesla

Valued Member
Reaction score
I wish my water parameters was that good after 5-6 days of WC my tap has 10-20ppm nitrates so... anyhow back to the topic
Stopping Thrive would help but keeping it off i guess would require regular scrubbing on your part. I have the magnetic brush so it is quick work without getting dirty.

Culprit

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
4 years