Can't seem to bring my ammonia level down.

Discussion in 'Aquarium Nitrogen Cycle' started by Stacyjoh, Jul 6, 2015.

1. StacyjohNew MemberMember

I am new to fish keeping. I made the mistake of getting fish before cycling the tank. I have sense learned this was not a good idea. I have a 50 gallon pentagon corner tank. I have a Tetra advance power filter in it. I have a heater that is keeping it between 76 and 78 degrees. I have had the tank set up for about 4 weeks.
    My fish
    1 angelfish
    1 common pleco
    1 smaller pleco
    5 black tail tetras
    2 cherry barbs
    1 dalmation molly
    2 cory catfish
    I have no live plants

I have lost 2 black molly and 1 dalmation molly and one silver molly over the last few weeks. i have sence stopped adding fish until i figure out what may be going on, and this is when I got a liquid ammonia test kit. I tested about 2 weeks ago and the ammonia was and 4.0 ppm. I did some water changes and used tetra safestart. This brought the ammonia down to between 1.0 to .50 ppm. My nitrate and nitrite stay at 0 and my ph is around 7.6. I have checked my tap water, which I am on well water and it has 0 ammonia in it.
    I then bought some Prime and started using it with my daily water changes and it still seems to hang around 1.0 ppm. Except for the issues with the Molly fish (which I'm not sure if that was because I have no salt in my tank) the other fish seem to be doing fine.
    Also I should add that this tank was used when I got it, and it was also used as a saltwater tank. It was pretty gross when I got it. But I cleaned it out really good with vinager and water, and let it dry for a few days before adding water. I just would really like to get this ammonia down. Any help would be greatly appriciated.
    Thank you

2. cabrerarmValued MemberMember