cant see fish

aquarious

Reaction score
hi im new to this fish buisness and have had my 29 gallon tank now for a just over a week. i have added 10 hardy fish (5 black widdows and 5 tetras) to my tank today but there is very little movement from them. all they seem to do is hide in rock or the corners of the tank. is this normal behaviour for new fish or is this behaviour due to poor tank conditions. also when i added food the fish did not swim to the top of the tank to get food instead they waited for some of the flakes to sink to the bottom (which was very few) sorry for the newbie questions but i would apreciate some help.
thank in advance. 

bbfeckawitts

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
5 to 10 years
Since your tank is new, it is probably the water conditions.

Do you know about cycling? Read here as it is a must for sucessful fishkeeping:
www.fishlore.com/NitrogenCycle.htm

Do you have a test kit? You will need one. Most here use and recommend the Master freshwater API test kit:

Just wanted to cover all the bases here. Good luck with your fish. Brianna

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
If you can get BioSpira locally, it would cycle your tank for you right away.

What do you treat the tap water with now? and what temperature is the tank at?

aquarious

Reaction score
i have test kit for ph and nitrite and i have just tested the water
pH is 7.5
nitrite is 0.1
nitate need to buy test kit
temperature is 25oc
water has been treated with interpets fresh start which is a tap water conditioner and filter start which sets up the bacteria
i think these readings are ok maybe a little high although if im wrong please tell me.
fish just dont seem to want to explore the tank they just stay in the bottom corners and dont move mu

COBettaCouple

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
Just started