Can't find a balance

1. Steve106 Member Member

Hi, im reaching out for any help or advice in find a proper balance. Im new to the planted tank scene and having an extremely difficult time finding the proper balance that makes my plants grow rather than algae.

What I have currently going on:
    Tank is 30 gallons, 36" length
    Lighting: T5 HO 2x38 watt, 1-6500 and 1-5500...lights on for 9 hours a day
    Ferts- Dosing Flourish once a week as directed on bottle
    CO2- DIY system delivering roughly 1 bps

As far as plants go: i currently have several bunches of Bacopa australis which is doing very well and growing like crazy. I also have two banana plants which have recently started to grow new healthy leaves. Two annubias plants, one on driftwood and another on a rock, both doing OK. I have a corner of my tank with dwarf baby tears starting to rot away : ( and a patch of Marsilea quadrifolia that i planted several months ago that has mostly died off and gotten covered in diatoms. I also have a little java moss and several of another plant I haven't been able to identify that has dark brown algae growing on the leaves. I also have noticed spot algae growing on my glass and my water is now also cloudy :;fru

Any ideas?

2. catsma_97504 Fishlore Legend Member

Is the spot algae Green Spot Algae? Is the dark brown areas the start of BBA?

It is important to know the exact form of algae as each has its own set of triggers. Follow the link in my signature about why there is algae in your tank.

What is your current nitrate reading? In a planted tank it should be between 10 and 20 PPM. Please provide your current water parameters. Also, take some tank water and add it to a container with an airline. Test this water's pH after 24 hours.

Where are your lights in relation to the top of your tank? Sitting on the tank, sitting on 3-4 inch feet or hanging a foot above the tank? This information will help to determine how much light is getting into your tank.