Canister filter output questions

Discussion in 'Filters and Filtration' started by DeniseMichele, Jul 28, 2015.

1. D

DeniseMichele Valued Member Member

Hi all,

So I'm new to canister filters. My 55 gallon is cycled and still empty for the moment. I am running the SunSun 302 currently and I have some questions about output placement. I apologize as some of these have probably been asked before, but I couldn't find answers.

The way I have it currently is with the filter output (spraybar) and input on the same side of the tank. The filter spraybar is right at the surface of the water.

1. I know the tank will have plenty of flow because water is moving circular from one end to the other, but the sound of the water from the output spraybar can definitely be heard. I dont really mind the sound but I have tried turning the spraybar toward the glass and it didn't seem to move the water enough on the other end of the tank. The way the filter output is, I don't think I can position it underwater unless I place it vertically. Would that be acceptable?

2. But if I put my second filter (an HOB) on the opposite end of the tank, I guess I could change the spraybar position even if it decreases flow right?

3. At the same time I am concerned about placing the HOB on the opposite end because of plants, is this a valid concern or paranoia? lol

4. During the cycling process I didn't notice it (probably because of water changes) but it seems like the tank water level is decreasing (evaporation?) at a rapid rate. I am not positive about this, but it kinda seems like it could be related to the spray bar?

Thanks in advance!

2. a

amydeb Valued Member Member

Is there room for more water in your tank? I have a Sunsun 304b and the spray bar reaches a couple inches below the water surface. I just kept kept rotating the bar around until I found an angle that worked. Having said that, I don't see why you couldn't place it vertically.