Canister Filter Layers

1. hobbby3 Initiate Member

Hi all,

I'm new to fishlore and just started my first fish tank thanks to somone giving me their setup leaving the hobby.

It's a 40 gallon with a canister filter.

My question is the canister came completely empty (I threw a bunch of ceramic rings in it to get started) what all should i put in the three levels? Also there was only half a sealing ring where the input feed pipe feeds the lower canister when I opened it up it was split and half gone. Do I need to find a replacement seal ring or are they not that critical? Thanks for helping out the noob. Here's a picture of what I've done so far any feedback you can provide would be much appreciated.

IMG-20120403-00316.jpg

2. bassbonediva Fishlore VIP Member

As far as what you can put in it, the options are nearly limitless. In my canister filter, I have filter sponge, cut-to-size blue filter pad and a zeolite pouch (ammonia remover). I'm thinking of adding some ceramic rings in the near future, though.

3. ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

4. hobbby3 Initiate Member

Great thank you guys. Ill check out that thread now.

5. ryanr Moderator Moderator Member

Oooh, and definitely replace the o-ring seal. [nearly mised that bit]

These seal the canister and perform 2 functions - 1, They stop air entering the system and 2, and most important, they stop water leaking from the system ;)

6. SJ408 Initiate Member

People typically try to put the fine filter paddings first so that less detritus gets on the actual bio-media (bio balls, ceramic rings, etc) to keep those from getting clogged up.

7. Jaysee Fishlore Legend Member

You've got that backwards - the coarsest media comes first. The finest media, such as a water polishing pad, comes last. If the finest media is put first, it will clog up and compromise the filtration.