Can two male guppies live alone?

Daisy007

I’m new to fish keeping. Last month I started a 10 gallon tank with 6 guppies. Even though there were plants and hideouts I was having guppy fights. Thought maybe they were cramped so bought a 20 gallon and still having problems. There is one smaller guppy that was constantly nipping and ramming my really fancy guppy until he had a red mark on side of head. I’ve moved him to the 10 gallon with one of the guppies he gets along with. Will the two guppies be okay by themselves if I get other community fish like Pygmy corries? I don’t want guppy fry and worried about getting more males. Thanks.

jkkgron2

I’m new to fish keeping. Last month I started a 10 gallon tank with 6 guppies. Even though there were plants and hideouts I was having guppy fights. Thought maybe they were cramped so bought a 20 gallon and still having problems. There is one smaller guppy that was constantly nipping and ramming my really fancy guppy until he had a red mark on side of head. I’ve moved him to the 10 gallon with one of the guppies he gets along with. Will the two guppies be okay by themselves if I get other community fish like Pygmy corries? I don’t want guppy fry and worried about getting more males. Thanks.
He should be fine but just in case I would add 6 ember tetras so that if there is aggression then it will be spread out.

FinalFins

If the aggression is toward guppies, add more males! They will figure out a pecking orger and aggression is spread. Embers IMO won't do anything to stop agression

jkkgron2

If the aggression is toward guppies, add more males! They will figure out a pecking orger and aggression is spread. Embers IMO won't do anything to stop agression
I never said stop, just spread out....the embers will distract the guppies and have lower bioload so then it’s easier tank maintenance and less targeted aggression

FinalFins

Yeah, I see your point but if they are going after eachother they won't disturb the embers.

jkkgron2