Can I Put A Platy And Cherry Barb In The Same Tank?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZaydG

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hi everyone,

Im new to aquariums. I let it filter and got a swordtail. He's like 2 inches but very pasaive. The petsmart woman said not to mix species cuz i have small tank, but if i only have like 2 or 3 fish, could i get a cherry bard to put in with my swordtail? Ive wanted a barb since I got a tank, and apparently cherries are the freindliest and dont nip, so can i put them together?

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
What size is the aquarium? Swordtails can get to four inches.

ZaydG

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
It is 10 gallons with a log and some fake plants

Katie13

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
It is 10 gallons with a log and some fake plants
Swordtails need 29 or more gallons. I would say no just considering your tank is basically already overstocked. Most schooling fish do best in at least 20 gallons or more as they need to be in large groups. You could possibly return or rehome the Swordtail and get a few barbs. Depending on type, they may do okay in a 10 gallon.

Castiel*

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Cherry Barbs are a very peaceful but shy fish. They do best in groups of 6+ and you could do 6 of them in your 10g if you have decent filtration.

The only problem is your sword tail. They get relatively big and In my honest opinion they need a 20g plus tank. So you won't really be able to add much for fish if you have him in there.

ZaydG

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Swordtails need 29 or more gallons. I would say no just considering your tank is basically already overstocked. Most schooling fish do best in at least 20 gallons or more as they need to be in large groups.