Can I mix API General Cure with pellets even if fish show no symptoms?

cichlidvo

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some help regarding bloat and internal parasites. Some context, I have a 75 Gallon Peacock and Hap tank with about 11 cichlids total. I've heard that you can dose fish with metronidazole 2-3 times a month to prevent fish bloat and internal parasites, which are common in cichlids. However, can I use General cure, because it does contain metro, 2-3 times a month to prevent any bloat or parasite infections or is only used if symptoms appear? Will infusing food pellets with general cure for fish without symptoms dangerous? I'm new to the hobby but understand the nitrogen cycle and cichlid water parameters. If anyone knows anything about API General Cure, please help. Thank you.

Cinabar

Hi, welcome to fishlore! Many people soak fish food in GC and use it as a preventative measure, it is safe for all fish. However, you should keep in mind that using it too often will lead to resistance and it might not be as effective in the future. One or two full doses should get rid of all parasites in the system, and they won't return unless introduced from an outside source (like new fish, contaminated water, some live foods, etc.)

Upvote 0

cichlidvo

Ahh, thank you so much!! Would you say that 2 times a month, once every 48 hours per instructions, is too often or okay?

Upvote 0

Cinabar

Ahh, thank you so much!! Would you say that 2 times a month, once every 48 hours per instructions, is too often or okay?

I’d have to recommend never medicating fish unless you’re 100% sure they’re sick. Once or twice as a preventative measure is alright, but meds are very stressful and could do more harm than good. If you’re using a very mild dewormer for internal parasites, once a month might be ok. Regular doses of general cure is definitely not good though.

Upvote 0

DoubleDutch

Agree for the fullest.
And don't think "general" means "general".