Can I feed my fish chocolate?

evanrodrigo6969
My friend told me that it is completely normal to feed your fish chocolate. As long as its DARK chocolate. I have never heard this before, but since I'm new to this aquarium hobby, I thought I should check here first!

alink
I don't see any good that could come from it, even if it is safe there are no nutritional benefits to it. I wouldn't risk it. Feed them food designed for your fish. Its the best thing you can do for them.

AndreDecasa
Welcome to FISHLORE!

The point of fish keeping is creating or mimicking the perfect or natural habitat of the fish you have. Processed chocolate is not a part of it. Chocolate melts and can create pollutant in the water It might be toxic also to the fish since It is cocoa. There won't be any nutritional value in it too though.

Gekco
I wouldn't try it, just stick with fish food.

Lucy
Welcome to FishLore

My fish/frogs and I have an understanding.
I won't eat their flakes, pellets or brine shrimp and they won't eat my chocolate.

Xysis
As tempting as my betta's salmon flakes look, I still haven't tried one. I can't see giving my betta sugar being any good for him. He's hyper enough.

evanrodrigo6969
Thanks guys! Very helpful information! I'll admit, it was tempting to share my Oreos with them while I waited on a response but I resisted I could tell my gourami was getting a lil jealous lol. ( I did try there fish flakes tho, not too good)

hampalong
Tetra Min flakes are quite nice, takes me right back....

evanrodrigo6969
Maybe its good luck LOL!

Maverick
Has your friend fed his/her fish chocolate..? I agree with the others, all of that sugar can't be good for fish!
But out of curiosity, has your friend fed their fish chocolate before? If so, how are the fish doing?

Gekco
If you feed enough chocolate to your fish id imagine that it would add a lot of maintenance to your tank.

Gena
Not sharing! =P