Can I cycle with dr Tim’s and api quick start?

TheAnglerAquarist
I don’t want to screw things up

StarGirl
StarGirl
Yes just follow the insructions.

TheAnglerAquarist
StarGirl said:
Yes just follow the insructions.
thanks!
TheAnglerAquarist said:
K I just put in the recommended for both. I keep adding 2ppm of ammonia per day right? I will change the water weekly unless I shouldn’t. I know how the cycle works but I have never done it before! Help me out please

GlennO
I assume this is a fishless cycle? You shouldn't need to change any water until the cycle is finished unless you need to lower something. The idea is to keep the ammonia level at around 2ppm which may not require adding ammonia every day. You need to test daily and add some ammonia only when you need to bump it up. I doubt that the API quick start will do much. It's not necessary to use it but on the other hand it will do no harm.

TheAnglerAquarist
GlennO said:
I assume this is a fishless cycle? You shouldn't need to change any water until the cycle is finished unless you need to lower something. The idea is to keep the ammonia level at around 2ppm which may not require adding ammonia every day. You need to test daily and add some ammonia only when you need to bump it up. I doubt that the API quick start will do much. It's not necessary to use it but on the other hand it will do no harm.
Thank you

DoubleDutch
GlennO said:
The mainly heterotrophic bacteria in API Quickstart will eat the ammonia so it won't be food for the wanted natural bcteria to occure. So I wouldn't
Use Dt Tims One and Only. That contains the right bacteria (to seed the filter)

TheAnglerAquarist
Wait now I have
DoubleDutch said:
The mainly heterotrophic bacteria in API Quickstart will eat the ammonia so it won't be food for the wanted natural bcteria to occure. So I wouldn't
Use Dt Tims One and Only. That contains the right bacteria (to seed the filter)
to get other bacteria? My parents are gonna be annoyed... DoubleDutch