Can I add a german blue ram in my 32g tank? Overstocking?

neofyt05

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Hello everyone,

Went to the lfs the other day and saw some beautiful (small) german blue rams and I totally fell in love with them. I am wondering if I can add one to my 32g tank.

About my tank:
32g, with plenty of filtration, live plants
1 Angelfish (raised from baby)
2 male mollies (one black and one white, I call them yin yang :yinyang
10 harlequin rasboras
10 neon tetras
4 bronze cories

Also can rams and live plants co-exist?

CatfishJack

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
What is the temperament of your angel like? I've no experience with them but I hear some of them can be pretty nippy towards other fish?

That is the only conflict I see happening, unless you got a breeding pair of rams, then when the spawn happens they could pick on the smaller fish.

As for the stocking levels, I am thinking you could do 1 or 2 rams.

neofyt05

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
My angel is peaceful, it usually minds its own business. It might "scare" the mollies during feeding time every now and then but nothing serious.

AmazonPassion

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I keep Angels and Rams together in a planted tank with zero issues. However, I think size of your tank will not be able to house another fish (not the best stocker here so just giving a personal opinion others will chime in).

CatfishJack

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I would imagine they would all get along well enough. My Bolivian Rams pretty much ignore anything that is not their own species. I understand GBR to be similar.

AmazonPassion said:
I keep Angels and Rams together in a planted tank with zero issues. However, I think size of your tank will not be able to house another fish (not the best stocker here so just giving a personal opinion others will chime in).