Can I Add A Bala Shark?

Patrick armer

Reaction score
I’m new to having fish, I have a 60 gallon tank and my first set of fish consist of the following

2 mollies(male and female)
3 tetras
2 glofish
1 Siamese flying fox

Next week I’m planning to add more fish as I’m consistently told 60 gallons is plenty to hold more and I wanted to ask you all if a bala shark would be safe to add, and if so, should I add one alone or a pair or???

All thoughts are appreciated

Patrick armer

Reaction score
It might eat some of the fish when it’s bigger. What type of glofish do you have? Most of them need a group of 6+
I believe they are glofish tetras (the common ones found at PetSmart) and yes I was told to get more of them from others as well, but as the tank is still new was advised that I have to wait a week or so before adding more fish.

But yes I’ll be adding more glofish, that’s too bad that the bala would eat the others. I don’t want wild kingdom in my living room lol

DuaneV

Well Known Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
Absolutely not. They get HUGE (like over 14 inches) and REALLY like to swim. A 60 gallon is nowhere near big enough. Double it an MAYBE. But they are also a schooling fish and really prefer groups of 6 or more, and youre looking at a MUCH larger tank (like 220 gallons or bigger). It will also attempt to eat any small fish, like yours, you have with it.

Patrick armer

Reaction score
Absolutely not. They get HUGE (like over 14 inches) and REALLY like to swim. A 60 gallon is nowhere near big enough. Double it an MAYBE. But they are also a schooling fish and really prefer groups of 6 or more, and youre looking at a MUCH larger tank (like 220 gallons or bigger). It will also attempt to eat any small fish, like yours, you have with it.
Ok, glad I asked before I brought one home then, thanks for the quick reply.

Patrick armer

Reaction score
Are you just looking for a larger fish for your aquarium?