Can apple snails found outside be put in aquariums?

1. Flowingfins

Flowingfins Fishlore VIP Member

I found an apple snail in my barn and was wondering if he would be okay in my 100 gallon tank.

2. Marie1

Marie1 Well Known Member Member

Got a pic?

3. OP
    OP
    Flowingfins

ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1407372829.954743.jpg
    Here he is. I have a pond close by so he probably came from there.

Sent from my iPhone using Fish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum

4. Marie1

That's awesome! I don't see why not, but I would quarantine it for awhile if possible. And you may want to get a positive ID on it to make sure it is a brigg. I'm not very good with inverts myself, but maybe someone else could help with a ID.

5. OP
    OP
    Flowingfins

Alright thanks Marie1! I plan on keeping him in this bucket for know will it be alright for a month? ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1407375697.533962.jpg ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1407375734.536952.jpg ImageUploadedByFish Lore Aquarium Fish Forum1407375767.367476.jpg

6. Marie1

Maybe? I really don't know. The only inverts I keep or have kept are red cherry shrimp, and assassin snails. I think inverts are very sensitive to ammonia though, so not having it with a filter may not be the best idea.

7. shelleyd2008

shelleyd2008 Well Known Member Member

It is likely a Florida Apple snail, which is a plant eater. Other than the possibility of introducing parasites, I don't see why you couldn't add it to your tank. Just be aware that they will climb out of the tank so you need to have a good top on it.

It will not be okay in the bucket unless you change the water every day. Why don't you just release it and get a mystery snail (pomacea diffusa)? Many people on here have them and several give them away.