Can’t Get Ammonia Down

DawnL

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
Hello Everyone. I’m very new to this hobby, have only had my 13 gallon Aqueon tank set up for about 6 weeks. I originally intended on having a Betta, a few decorations, nothing fancy. But of course, YouTube and various websites peaked my obsession, so I went and got myself some fancy male guppies (5 of them), 2 Cory Catfish, and 3 red cherry shrimp. I even got shipped 2 mystery snails on accident (is order some narrow leaf sword plants, but they told me to just keep the snails). The ammonia has been high for a few weeks now. I’ve done water changes, and I’ve started adding more plants. The fish seem fine, but I just lost the final shrimp today. Originally had 3 Cory cats, 1 died the day after I got them. The ammonia always tests high with the API test kit (dark green). I use Prime and API water conditioner when doing water changes. And started using AMMO LOCK. The ammonia just won’t come down. Suggestions? I don’t want to kill anything else!

mattgirl

Fishlore Legend
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
How often have you been doing water changes and how much are you changing each time?

It seems to me everyone sees dark green in their test tube when adding ammo-lock. You may want to consider not adding it and just sticking to Prime and water changes meaning no less than 50% each time.

DawnL

Reaction score
Experience
Just started
I do water changes every 2 days. About 20-25%. I panicked when my shrimp started dying and did a 50% change. But I hear mixed reviews on that, some people swear by it, and others say that removes too much good bacteria so I’m basically starting my cycle over. I should’ve added Nitrites have always tested 0 so that’s discouraging as well.

Johnnybelfastboy

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
H
DawnL said: