Bullied astatotilapia aeneocolor. Should I pull him out today? Help

Discussion in 'African Cichlids' started by Emily Caldwell, Jul 13, 2015.

1. Emily CaldwellValued MemberMember

I posted this on cichlid-forum as well. I'm trying to get as much advice as quickly as possible.

I am a novice African Cichlid keeper with a tank that is admittedly too small. The set up is at my office. My bosses really wanted a vibrant, colorful tank and they wanted it in a 46 gallon bowfront so I'm trying to make that work. It's been going ok but this tank is a mix of Malawi Mbuna and a few Lake Victoria haps, and everyone is bullying the aeneocolor. I'm very concerned he won't make it if I don't pull him today. I have a tank I can use for a hospital/QT tank but it's not set up. I have some pool filter sand I can put in there for substrate. I will need to get a heater and a sponge filter but I should be able to pull that off.

Here are my questions: I don't have a lid for the QT tank yet. Will he be ok in there with no lid if I don't fill it all the way? Also, the QT tank is obviously not cycled. Will it be ok to put him in there? It's a 20 gallon and he's a 2 inch fish, so I don't feel like the ammonia will spike too bad if I'm doing a lot of water changes. Should I pull him out today and look for a place for him to go? Or should I look for a place for him to go right now and if I can find one just pull him and bring him there? I'm worried about putting him into an established tank. He's a beat up juvenile fish.

Help! I don't want him to suffer and die. What can I do today?

(Yes I have learned my lesson. Next time I do an African Cichlid set-up I will have a fully cycled QT/hospital tank ready to go before any fish go in the main tank. Live and learn.)

2. LeoDiazFishlore VIPMember