Building A Tank Stand

Aureus

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
I'm not much of a carpenter, but I was thinking about trying to make a stand for a 29-gallon tank, so I do have a few questions...

1) What materials are required? I understand that wood and nails are a must, but how much wood would be necessary? What kind of wood would work the best? How much wood would I need? Is there a particular nail size that would work the best? What would be the price of all of this?

2) How much time should this take? I probably will only have a week or so to work on this with about 2-3 hours each day. Is this enough time to complete it?

3) How tall, long, and wide should the stand be? I know that the average 29-gallon tank is around 30x12x18 but should I make the stand slightly larger in width and length? What would be the optimal height for the tank stand?

I know this is a bit of a long post and I sound like a complete noob (which I am) but I want to make sure I know what I am doing before I jump into this project. I would also appreciate pictures of your own tank stands that you made, along with any plans or illustrations of them. Thank you!

Fashooga

Fishlore VIP
Reaction score
Experience
More than 10 years
I think it's best to go on YouTube and type in "DIY Aquarium Stand 29 gallons" and go through it. There are a lot of videos out there.

You won't be using nails, you will be needing screws and a high impact drill to put those screws in since your going through two pieces of wood.

Aureus

Valued Member
Reaction score
Experience
2 years
Fashooga said:
I think it's best to go on YouTube and type in "DIY Aquarium Stand 29 gallons" and go through it. There are a lot of videos out there.

You won't be using nails, you will be needing screws and a high impact drill to put those screws in since your going through two pieces of wood.
Oh, thank you! I didn't realize that screws would be best. I'll definitely watch some videos on building a tank stand tonight.