40 Gallon Tank Building a stand (40 US gallon long)

Kaiji

Hey guys! I'm currently working on building an aquarium stand for my 40 gallon(US) long tank. I used and put in the dimensions of my tank (48" x 12.5" x 16.5") and I am ready to use the measurements given to me. I'm not too good with math , and I wanted to double check, would 12.5 be good to say "twelve and a half inches?" I want to make sure I'm putting the precise numbers in. The calculator is telling me I have a 43.0 gallon tank. Also, I'm planning to use 4 x 4 wood, but I see the plans without the "1/2" precision safety plans" use 2 x4 wood. What would you guys recommend or prefer?

On another note, I went to Lowes and saw the 4 x 4 wood is actually measured at 3.5 x 3.5 inches. Would that be a problem?

I did some searching on the forum but didn't quite find any threads like this one.

bwreynolds

If you do 4x4 I would go back and redo the math again and when I built my own stand the website I used used 2x2 and they measured it by two inches rather than 1.5 so if I were you I'd go ahead and add another 1/4 inch to each side just to be sure

bwreynolds

I went back and looked at the website and they do measure it in 4x4 but they measure it as 4 inches rather than 3.5

Theepum

any lumber you buy from say home depot - a "2x4" is actually 1.5x3.5" and a 2x6 is 1.5x5.5" and 2x8 are 1.5x7.75"

I've taken a look at the website, and they are way over engineered. I have my 75 gallon sitting on 2x4 frame, but if you don't know anything about framing/building then its easier to do it their way, although more costly.

if you are following their design and using the 4x4's just add an inch to the vertical pieces to end up with the same height you want overall (1/2" per side)

Kaiji