Brittle Starfish Tank Mates

notwiktoria

Hello everyone! I am completely new to saltwater tanks and I dabbled in the past in freshwater tanks. I know the basics about fish (cycle the tank a few weeks before adding fish, temperatures, filters, etc) I recently purchased a 29 gallon tank and would love to make it a saltwater tank. I would ideally like to have a brittle starfish in it. So does anyone have any suggestions for good tank mates for a brittle starfish? Also, any other saltwater aquarium tips would be appreciated. Thank you!

AquaPhilNJ

Feel like anything and everything will go fine with brittle starfish. Corals perhaps would be issue. I'm not 100%, but if anyone disagreed even then not so sure I'd be convinced; Fish just don't eat or bother them.

Saltwater community pushes for RO/DI water only inside tank, that's what I use; can't remember the reason anymore, even with FOWL. BRS video series is fun to watch many tips for saltwater tanks. For me biggest issue was using carbon, took me over 2 years to realize carbon was just hurting me and striping aquarium, causing dinos and bio-load imbalance. Don't use recommended amount (too much) in fact I don't use it at all anymore. And obviously you may have heard most ppl use skimmer for filtration.

Upvote 0

Jesterrace

Feel like anything and everything will go fine with brittle starfish. Corals perhaps would be issue. I'm not 100%, but if anyone disagreed even then not so sure I'd be convinced; Fish just don't eat or bother them.