Brine shrimp eggs and salt bad for fish?

TwiTch18
Howdy,
Just wondering if the brine shrimps eggs and aquarium salt will bother freshwater fish? (Platies in particular)

I do my best to hatch and seperate all of them with a small filter and rinse them out but it's near impossible to do 100% correctly. I'm new to fish keeping and I want to make sure that the few eggs and little bit of salt won't hurt the fish. It's a 35g tank and I only feed them brine once a week or so. They absolutely love them so I want to make sure it's fine.

Thanks for any advice or suggestions in advance! :)

Betta'sAnonymous
Aquarium salt shouldn't have ill effect on the platies.

LowConductivity
I gave up on even rinsing them years ago. No ill effects, even with the sensitive babies.

3876T
TwiTch18 said:
Howdy,
Just wondering if the brine shrimps eggs and aquarium salt will bother freshwater fish? (Platies in particular)

I do my best to hatch and seperate all of them with a small filter and rinse them out but it's near impossible to do 100% correctly. I'm new to fish keeping and I want to make sure that the few eggs and little bit of salt won't hurt the fish. It's a 35g tank and I only feed them brine once a week or so. They absolutely love them so I want to make sure it's fine.

Thanks for any advice or suggestions in advance! :)
U can hatch brine shrimps without giving them oxygen, take a container and then add some baking soda and rock/aquarium salt and then keep in sunlight for 24hours

This way ur artemia won't have a 100% hatch rate (obviously) but its still great and cheap :)

TwiTch18
LowConductivity said:
I gave up on even rinsing them years ago. No ill effects, even with the sensitive babies.
That's great to know I'm at least trying to dilute that brine water with tank water before feeding them. Not sure if it does anything but it makes me feel better haha
Betta'sAnonymous said:
Aquarium salt shouldn't have ill effect on the platies.

Flyfisha
TwiTch18,